World Trade Organization (WTO)

Established: By the Marrakesh Agreement signed at Marrakesh, Morocco, on April 15, 1994, effective January 1, 1995.

Purpose: To administer the agreements contained in the Final Act of the Uruguay Round of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT); to provide conciliation mechanisms to resolve trade conflicts between members and, if necessary, adjudicate disputes; to provide a forum for ongoing negotiations in pursuit of further lowering and/or elimination of tariffs and other trade barriers.

Headquarters: Geneva, Switzerland.

Principal Organs: Ministerial Council (all members), General Council (all members), Trade Policy Review Body, Dispute Settlement Body, Appellate Body, Council on Trade in Goods, Council on Trade in Services, Council on the Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights, Secretariat.

Director General: Pascal Lamy (France).

Membership (148): Albania, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles