Established: As the South Pacific Forum by a subgroup of the South Pacific Commission meeting at Wellington, New Zealand, on August 5, 1971; current name adopted on October 3–5, 1999, effective October 2000.

Purpose: To facilitate cooperation among member states, to coordinate their views on political issues of concern to the subregion, and to accelerate member states' rates of economic development.

Headquarters: Suva, Fiji.

Principal Organs: Forum, Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat.

Secretary General of Forum Secretariat: Greg Urwin (Australia).

Membership (16): Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Observers (2): New Caledonia, Timor-Leste.

Official Language: English.

Origin and development. Since the South Pacific Commission (SPC, now the Pacific Community) was barred from concerning itself ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles