Established: By enabling legislation passed by the parliaments of the founding member states, following agreement at a foreign ministers' meeting at Copenhagen, Denmark, March 16, 1952, with effect from February 12, 1953.

Purpose: To provide a forum for consultation among the legislatures and governments of the member states on matters of common interest and to promote cooperation on cultural, economic, legal, social, and other matters.

Headquarters: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Principal Organs: Plenary Assembly, Presidium, Secretariat.

Secretary General: Per Unckel (Sweden).

Membership (5): Denmark (including Faroe Islands and Greenland), Finland (including Åland Islands), Iceland, Norway, Sweden.

Observers: The Sámi (Lapp) local parliaments of Finland, Norway, and Sweden.

Official Languages: Danish, Norwegian, Swedish.

Origin and development. First advocated by Denmark in 1938, the Nordic Council grew out of an unsuccessful attempt in 1948–1949 to negotiate a ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles