Latin American Economic System (LAES/SELA)

Systeme Economique Latinaméricain

Sistema Económico Latino-Americano

Sistema Económico Latinoamericana

Established: By convention signed at Panama City, Panama, October 17, 1975.

Purpose: To promote intraregional cooperation to accelerate the economic and social development of its members; to provide a permanent system of consultation and coordination for the adoption of common positions and strategies on economic and social issues in international bodies and forums as well as before third countries and groups of countries.

Headquarters: Caracas, Venezuela.

Principal Organs: Latin American Council, Action Committees, Permanent Secretariat.

Permanent Secretary: Roberto Guarnieri (Venezuela).

Membership (28): Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela.

Official Languages: English, French, Portuguese, Spanish.

Origin and development. SELA received ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles