Established: As the group of contributing countries to the General Arrangements to Borrow (GAB), negotiated in Paris, France, in 1962 by the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund.

Purpose: To discuss problems relating to the functioning and structure of the international monetary system.

Principal Organs: None; communication within the Group occurs at regular and ad hoc meetings of ministers, ministerial deputies, and governors or other representatives of the members' central banks.

Membership (11): Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States.

Nonstate Participants (4): International Monetary Fund (IMF), Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), Bank for International Settlements (BIS), European Commission (EC).

Origin and development. The Group of Ten (G-10), also sometimes known as the Group of Eleven since Switzerland's accession to membership ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles