European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

Organisation Européenne pour la Recherche Nucléaire

Established: By convention signed at Paris, France, on July 1, 1953, effective September 29, 1954.

Purpose: “To provide for collaboration among European States in subnuclear research of a pure scientific and fundamental character, and in research essentially related thereto. The Organization shall have no concern with work for military requirements and the results of its experimental and theoretical work shall be published or otherwise made generally available.”

Headquarters: Geneva, Switzerland.

Principal Organs: Council, Committee of Council, Scientific Policy Committee, Finance Committee.

Director General: Robert Aymar (France).

Membership (20): Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom.

Observers (8): European Commission; India; Israel; Japan; Russia; Turkey; United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles