Economic Community of the Great Lakes Countries (CEPGL)

Communauté Economique des Pays des Grands Lacs

Established: By convention signed by the heads of state of the member countries on September 26, 1976, at Gisenyi, Rwanda.

Purpose: To promote regional economic integration; to increase security and welfare for the region; to facilitate political, cultural, technical, and scientific cooperation among the members; and to contribute to the strengthening of national sovereignty and African unity.

Headquarters: Gisenyi, Rwanda.

Principal Organs: Conference of Heads of States, Council of Ministers and State Commissioners, Consultative Commission, Specialized Technical Commissions, Permanent Executive Secretariat.

Membership (3): Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda.

Official Language: French.

Origin and development. The first proposal for the creation of an organization concerned with the social, cultural, economic, and political problems of the Central African subregion emerged from discussions held during a ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles