East African Community (EAC)

Established: By Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community, which was signed November 30, 1999, at Arusha, Tanzania, and entered into force July 7, 2000; Community formally launched January 15, 2001.

Purpose: To coordinate trade, monetary, defense, and sectoral policies with a view toward establishment of a customs unions, a common market, a monetary union, and, eventually, a political federation of the partner states.

Headquarters: Arusha, Tanzania.

Principal Organs: Summit, Council of Ministers, Coordination Committee, Sectoral Councils, Sectoral Committees, East African Court of Justice, East African Legislative Assembly.

Secretary General: Nuwe Amanya-Mushega (Uganda).

Membership (3): Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda.

Official Language: English. Kiswahili is to be developed as a lingua franca.

Origin and development. The original East African Community (EAC) of Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda was established in 1967 but collapsed ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles