Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS)

Established: March 5, 1992, by a meeting at Copenhagen, Denmark, of foreign ministers of the ten Baltic states.

Purpose: To promote cooperation and coordination among all states bordering on the Baltic Sea or its main links to the open sea, with emphasis on aid to new democratic institutions, economic development, umanitarian aid, energy and the environment, culture and education, and transportation and communication.

Headquarters: Stockholm, Sweden.

Principal Organs: Council of Ministers, Committee of Senior Officials, Commissioner of the CBSS on Democratic Development, Secretariat.

Director of Secretariat: Hannu Halinen (Finland).

Membership (12): Denmark, Estonia, European Commission, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden.

Observers (7): France, Italy, Netherlands, Slovakia, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States.

Special Participants (6): Baltic Sea Parliamentary Conference, Baltic Sea Seven Islands Cooperation Network, Baltic Sea States' ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles