Colombo Plan for Cooperative Economic and Social Development in Asia and the Pacific

Established: July 1, 1951, pursuant to an initiative by Commonwealth foreign ministers in Colombo, Sri Lanka, January 9–14, 1950.

Purpose: To facilitate economic and social development, to coordinate technical assistance and capital aid to the countries of Asia and the Pacific, to promote South–South cooperation in development, and to assist the region's least developed countries (LDCs) in obtaining technical and industrial know-how.

Headquarters: Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Principal Organs: Consultative Committee, Colombo Plan Council, Colombo Plan Secretariat.

Secretary General: Kittipan Kanjanapipatkul (Thailand).

Membership (24):

Major Donors (4): Australia, Japan, New Zealand, United States.

Regional Members (20): Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran, Republic of Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand.

Provisional Members (2): Mongolia, Vietnam.

Origin and development. What was initially styled the “Colombo ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles