Central European Initiative (CEI)

Established: By agreement signed in Vienna, Austria, January 28, 1992, pursuant to earlier regional cooperation framework inaugurated in Budapest, Hungary, November 11, 1989, and known successively as the “Quadragonale,” the “Pentagonale,” and the “Hexagonale.”

Purpose: To coordinate the implementation of joint projects in fields where advantage can be obtained from the regional harmonization of policies.

Headquarters: Trieste, Italy.

Principal Organs: Meeting of Heads of Government, Conference of Foreign Ministers, Committee of National Coordinators, Executive Secretariat.

Director General: Harold Kreid (Austria).

Membership (17): Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine.

Origin and development. On the initiative of the Italian foreign minister, Gianni De Michelis, the “Quadragonale” grouping was created in November 1989 by Austria, Hungary, Italy, and ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles