Central American Common Market (CACM/MCCA)

Mercado Común Centroamericano

Established: By General Treaty of Central American Economic Integration, signed December 13, 1960, at Managua, Nicaragua, effective June 3, 1961.

Purpose: “The Contracting States agree to set up among themselves a common market which should be fully established in not more than five years from the date of the entry into force of [the] Treaty. They also undertake to set up a customs union among their territories.”

Headquarters: Guatemala City, Guatemala.

Principal Organs: Council of Ministers for Economic Integration, Permanent Secretariat.

Secretary General: Haroldo Rodas Melgar (Guatemala).

Members (5): Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua.

Official Language: Spanish.

Origin and development. A Central American Economic Integration Program was formally launched in August 1952, when the region's economic ministers organized a Committee for Economic Cooperation of the Central American Isthmus. ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles