Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC)

Communauté Economique et Monétaire

de l'Afrique Centrale

Established: By the Central African Customs and Economic Union (UDEAC) under a treaty signed March 15–16, 1994, at N'Djamena, Chad; formally succeeded the UDEAC in June 1999, following ratification of the treaty by the member states.

Purpose: To promote socioeconomic integration and sustainable development in Central Africa in the context of monetary and economic unions.

Headquarters: Bangui, Central African Republic.

Principal Organs: Conference of Heads of State, Council of Ministers of the Central African Economic Union, Ministerial Council of the Central African Monetary Union, Executive Secretariat.

Executive Secretary: Jean Nkuete (Cameroon).

Membership (6): Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon.

Official Language: French.

Origin and development. Prior to attaining independence, the Central African Republic, Chad, the Congo, and Gabon were joined ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles