Association of Caribbean States (ACS)

Associación de Estados del Caribe

Association des Etats de la Caraibe

Established: By Convention signed July 24, 1994, at Cartagena de Indias, Colombia.

Purpose: To promote “economic integration, and the creation of an enhanced space of free trade and cooperation among the countries of the Caribbean … to meet the challenges and exploit the opportunities arising from the globalization of the international economy and progressive liberalization of hemispheric trade relations.”

Headquarters: Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago.

Principal Organs: Heads of State/Government Meetings, Ministerial Council, Secretariat.

Secretary General: Dr. Rubén Arturo Silié Valdez (Dominican Republic).

Members (25): Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts-Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles