Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Established: At a meeting of foreign and economic ministers of 12 nations at Canberra, Australia, on November 6–7, 1989; objectives and principles set forth in Seoul Declaration approved during ministerial meeting at Seoul, South Korea, November 12–14, 1991; Declaration of Institutional Arrangements adopted September 10–11, 1992, at Bangkok, Thailand.

Purpose: To provide a forum for discussion on a broad range of economic issues and to promote multilateral cooperation among the market-oriented economies of the region.

Headquarters: Singapore.

Principal Organs: Economic Leaders' Meeting, Ministerial Meeting, Senior Officials' Meeting, Budget and Management Committee, Committee on Trade and Investment, Economic Committee, Secretariat.

Executive Director: Choi Seek Young (Republic of Korea, 2005), succeeding Mario Artaza (Chile, 2004). The position changes annually.

Membership (21): Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles