Official Name: Tripartite Security Treaty Between the Governments of Australia, New Zealand, and the United States (ANZUS Pact).

Established: By Treaty signed September 1, 1951, at San Francisco, United States, effective April 29, 1952.

Purpose: “Each Party recognizes that an armed attack in the Pacific Area on any of the Parties would be dangerous to its own peace and safety and declares that it would act to meet the common danger in accordance with its constitutional processes.”

Principal Organ: ANZUS Council.

Membership (3): Australia, New Zealand, United States.

Official Language: English.

Origin and development. The ANZUS Pact was concluded at the time of the 1951 peace settlement with Japan as part of a complex of US-supported mutual security arrangements in the Pacific. Subsequent realignments in international and regional politics reduced the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles