Republic of Zimbabwe

Political Status: Became self-governing British Colony of Southern Rhodesia in October 1923; unilaterally declared independence November 11, 1965; white-dominated republican regime proclaimed March 2, 1970; biracial executive established on basis of transitional government agreement of March 3, 1978; returned to interim British rule on basis of cease-fire agreement signed December 21, 1979; achieved de jure independence as Republic of Zimbabwe on April 18, 1980.

Area: 150,803 sq. mi. (390,580 sq. km.).

Population: 12,994,000 (2004E); 12,746,990 (2005E).

Major Urban Centers (1992C): HARARE (formerly Salisbury, 1,189,103), Bulawayo (621,742).

Official Language: English (Shona and Sindebele are the principal African languages).

Monetary Unit: Zimbabwe dollar (official rate, July 1, 2005: 10,176 dollars = $1US; devalued on July 20, 2005, 17,500 dollars = $1US).

President: Robert Gabriel MUGABE (Zimbabwe African National Union–Patriotic Front); ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles