al-Imarat al-‘Arabiyah al-Muttahida

Political Status: Federation of six former Trucial States (Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Fujaira, ‘Ajman, and Umm al-Qaiwain) established December 2, 1971; the seventh, Ras al-Khaima, joined in 1972.

Area: 32,278 sq. mi. (83,600 sq. km.).

Population: 2,377,453 (1995C), embracing Abu Dhabi (928,360), Dubai (674,100), Sharjah (400,400), Ras al-Khaima (164,930), ‘Ajman (89,962), Fujaira (78,716), and Umm al-Qaiwain (41,232); 4,317,000 (2004E). Figures include noncitizens, who in 1995 represented approximately three-quarters of the population.

Major Urban Center (2002E): ABU DHABI (527,000). (The “interim” constitution of 1971 had designated Abu Dhabi as the “provisional” capital, plans being approved concurrently for construction of a permanent capital at Karama on the border of Abu Dhabi and Dubai, the two largest emirates. No action was ever taken regarding the Karama site, however, and ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles