Constitutional Monarchy of Tuvalu

Fakavae Aliki-Malo i Tuvalu

Political Status: Former British dependency; independent with “special membership” in the Commonwealth since October 1, 1978.

Land Area: 10 sq. mi. (26 sq. km.).

Resident Population: 10,880 (2002C); 11,550 (2004E). Both figures are exclusive of more than 3,000 Tuvaluans living overseas.

Major Urban Center: None; the administrative center is located at Fongafale, on the island of Funafuti.

Official Language: English (Tuvaluan is widely spoken).

Monetary Unit: Australian Dollar (market rate July 1, 2005: 1.32 dollars = $1US). A Tuvaluan coinage (at par with the Australian) was introduced in 1977 but is circulated largely for numismatic purposes.

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Rev. Filoimea TELITO; sworn in on April 15, 2005, to succeed Faimalaga LUKA.

Prime Minister: Maatia TOAFA; elected by Parliament on October 11, 2004, after ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles