Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since August 31, 1962; republican constitution adopted August 1, 1976.

Area: 1,980 sq. mi. (5,128 sq. km.), of which Trinidad encompasses 1,864 sq. mi. (4,828 sq. km.) and Tobago 116 sq. mi. (300 sq. km.).

Population: 1,262,366 (2000C); 1,288,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Center (2000C): PORT-OF-SPAIN (49,031).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Trinidad and Tobago Dollar (market rate July 1, 2005: 6.27 dollars = $1US).

President: George Maxwell (Max) RICHARDS; elected by Parliament to a five-year term on February 14, 2003, and inaugurated on March 17, succeeding Arthur Napoleon Raymond ROBINSON.

Prime Minister: Patrick Augustus Mervyn MANNING (People's National Movement), appointed by the President on December 24, 2001, following general election of December 10, to succeed Basdeo PANDAY (United National Congress); reappointed ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles