United Republic of Tanzania

Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth; established in its present form April 26, 1964, through union of the Republic of Tanganyika (independent 1961) and the People's Republic of Zanzibar (independent 1963); one-party constitution adopted April 25, 1977; multiparty system legalized June 17, 1992.

Area: 364,898 sq. mi. (945,087 sq. km.), encompassing Tanganyika, 363,948 sq. mi. (942,626 sq. km.) and Zanzibar 950 sq. mi. (2,461 sq. km.), the latter including Pemba (350 sq. mi., 906 sq. km.).

Population: 34,569,232 (2002C); 35,138,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Centers (1988E): DAR ES SALAAM (1,369,000), Mwanza (223,000), Dodoma (204,000), Tanga (187,000), Zanzibar (town, 158,000). The deadline for the transfer of government operations to a new capital at Dodoma has been extended numerous times. Although the National ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles