Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Prajatantrika Samajawadi Janarajaya (Sinhala)

Llankais Sananayaka Socialisak Kutiyarasa (Tamil)

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since February 4, 1948; present constitution adopted August 6, 1978, with effect from September 7.

Area: 25,332 sq. mi. (65,610 sq. km.).

Population: 16,864,544 (2001C); 19,236,000 (2004E). The census figure is provisional and lacks results from several districts where security concerns prohibited enumeration.

Major Urban Centers (2001C): SRI JAYEWARDENEPURA (Kotte, administrative capital, 115,826), Colombo (Kolamba, commercial capital, 642,163), Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia (209,787), Jaffna (1999E, 145,600), Kandy (Maha Nuwara, 110,049). Governmental transfer to the ancient capital of Sri Jayewardenepura is in progress.

Official Language: Sinhala, Tamil. English also is recognized as a “link language.”

Monetary Unit: Rupee (market rate July 1, 2005: 100.11 rupees = $1US).

President: Chandrika Bandaranaike KUMARATUNGA (United People's ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles