Somali Republic

Jamhuuriyada Soomaaliyeed

Political Status: Independent republic established July 1, 1960; revolutionary military regime installed October 21, 1969; one-party state proclaimed July 1, 1976; multiparty system authorized on December 25, 1990, but unimplemented prior to the assumption of power by rebel forces on January 27, 1991; national charter providing for three-year transitional national government adopted by Somali National Peace Conference July 16, 2000, at Arta, Djibouti; Transitional Federal Charter approved January 29, 2004, providing for a four-year transitional government.

Area: 246,199 sq. mi. (637,657 sq. km.), including Somaliland (68,000 sq. mi.; 176,120 sq. km.).

Population: 7,114,431 (1986–1987C), excluding adjustment for underenumeration; 10,315,000 (2004E), including Somaliland (4,900,000).

Major Urban Centers (1984E): MOGADISHU (570,000), Hargeisa (Somaliland, 90,000), Kismayu (86,000), Berbera (Somaliland, 83,000).

Principal Language: Somali.

Monetary Unit: Somali Shilling (official rate July 1, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles