Republic of Slovenia

Republika Slovenije

Political Status: Former constituent republic of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia; independence declared June 25, 1991, on the basis of a referendum held December 23, 1990; present constitution adopted December 23, 1991.

Area: 7,818 sq. mi. (20,251 sq. km.).

Population: 1,995,033 (2002E); 1,998,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Centers (1999E): LJUBLJANA (260,000), Maribor (100,000).

Official Language: Slovene.

Monetary Unit: Tolar (official rate July 1, 2005: 198.24 tolars = $1US).

President: Janez DRNOVŠEK (Liberal Democracy of Slovenia); directly elected in balloting of November 10 and December 1, 2002, and inaugurated on December 22 succeeding Milan KUČAN (nonparty).

President of the Executive Council (Prime Minister): Janez JANŠA (Slovenian Democratic Party) nominated by the President on November 3, 2004, and confirmed by the National Assembly on November 9, following the general election of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles