Republic of Singapore

Xinjiapo Gongheguo (Chinese)

Republik Singapura (Malay)

Singapur Kutiyarasu (Tamil)

Political Status: Independent republic within the Commonwealth since August 9, 1965.

Area: 246 sq. mi. (636 sq. km.), including adjacent islets that encompass some 15 sq. mi. (39 sq. km.).

Population: 4,017,733 (2000C); 4,199,000 (2004E). Both figures include nonresidents, who totaled 754,524 in 2000.

Major Urban Center (2000C): SINGAPORE (urban area, 4,017,733).

Official Language: Chinese (Mandarin is the preferred form), English, Malay, Tamil.

Monetary Unit: Singapore Dollar (market rate July 1, 2005: 1.68 dollars = $1US).

President: Sellapan Ramanathan NATHAN; declared President-elect on August 18, 1999, by Presidential Elections Commission, which had ruled other potential nominees ineligible; inaugurated on September 1 for a six-year term, succeeding ONG Teng Cheong; declared President for a second term on August 17, 2005, by the Presidential Elections ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles