Portuguese Republic

República Portuguesa

Political Status: Independent republic proclaimed October 5, 1910; corporative constitution of March 19, 1933, suspended following military coup of April 25, 1974; present constitution promulgated April 2, 1976, with effect from April 25.

Area: 35,553 sq. mi. (92,082 sq. km.).

Population: 10,355,824 (2001C); 10,509,000 (2004E). Area and population figures include mainland Portugal plus the Azores and the Madeira Islands.

Major Urban Centers (2001C): LISBON (564,657), Porto (Oporto, 263,131).

Official Language: Portuguese.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate July 1, 2005: 1 euro = $1.21US).

President: Jorge SAMPAIO (Portuguese Socialist Party); sworn in for a five-year term on March 9, 1996, following election of January 14, succeeding Dr. Mário Alberto Nobre Lopes SOARES (Portuguese Socialist Party); reelected on January 14, 2001, and sworn in for a second term on March ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles