Polish Republic

Rzeczypospolita Polska

Political Status: Independent state reconstituted 1918; Communist-ruled People's Republic established 1947; constitution of July 22, 1952, substantially revised in accordance with intraparty agreement of April 5, 1989, with further amendments on December 29 including name change to Polish Republic; new interim “small” constitution introduced December 8, 1992; permanent “large” constitution approved by national referendum on May 25, 1997, effective October 17, 1997.

Area: 120,725 sq. mi. (312,677 sq. km.).

Population: 38,230,100 (2002C); 38,036,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Centers (1999E): WARSAW (1,614,000); Łódź (804,000), Kraków (733,000); Wrocław (640,000); Poznań (580,000); Gdańsk (461,000); Szczecin (418,000).

Official Language: Polish.

Monetary Unit: Złoty (market rate July 1, 2005: 3.33 złotys = $1US). (After Poland joined the European Union in May 2004, the Polish government announced that it hoped to adopt the euro as ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles