Republic of Panama

República de Panamá

Political Status: Became independent of Spain as part of Colombia (New Granada) in 1819; independent republic proclaimed November 3, 1903; present constitution, adopted September 13, 1972, substantially revised April 24, 1983.

Area: 29,208 sq. mi. (75,650 sq. km.).

Population: 2,839,177 (2000C); 3,173,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Centers (2000C): PANAMA (also known as Panama City, 463,093), San Miguelito (291,769), David (76,481), Colón (52,286).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Balboa (official rate July 1, 2005: 1.00 balboas = $1US). The US dollar is acceptable as legal tender.

President: Martín TORRIJOS Espino (Democratic Revolutionary Party); elected on May 2, 2004, and inaugurated on September 1 for a five-year term, succeeding Mireya Elisa MOSCOSO de Gruber (Arnulfist Party).

First Vice President Samuel Lewis NAVARRO (Democratic Revolutionary Party); elected on May 2, 2004, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles