Kingdom of Norway

Kongeriket Norge

Note: In legislative balloting on September 11–12, 2005, the coalition of the Norwegian Labor Party, Socialist Left Party, and the Center Party secured 88 of 168 seats. Jens Stoltenberg of the Labor Party was expected to form a new government in mid-October.

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy established in 1905; under multiparty parliamentary system.

Area: 149,282 sq. mi. (386,641 sq. km.), including Svalbard and Jan Mayen (see Related Territories).

Population: 4,520,947 (2001C); 4,580,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Centers (1999E): OSLO (780,000), Bergen (195,000), Stavanger (138,000), Trondheim (137,000).

Official Language: Norwegian.

Monetary Unit: Krone (official rate July 1, 2005: 6.53 kroner = $1US).

Sovereign: King HARALD V; succeeded to the throne January 17, 1991, upon the death of his father, King OLAV V.

Heir to the Throne: Crown Prince HAAKON Magnus, son of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles