Republic of Nicaragua

República de Nicaragua

Political Status: Independence originally proclaimed 1821; separate republic established 1838; provisional junta installed July 19, 1979; present constitution adopted November 19, 1986, with effect from January 9, 1987.

Area: 50,193 sq. mi. (130,000 sq. km.).

Population: 4,357,099 (1995C); 5,627,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Centers (1995C): MANAGUA (864,201), León (123,865).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Córdoba oro (principal rate July 1, 2005: 16.37 córdobas = $1US).

President: Enrique BOLAÑOS Geyer (Grand Liberal Union); served as Vice President, January 10, 1997, to October 24, 2000, when he resigned to run for President; elected President on November 4, 2001, and inaugurated on January 10, 2002, for a five-year term, succeeding Dr. Arnoldo ALEMAN Lacayo (Liberal Alliance).

Vice President: José RIZO Castellón (Grand Liberal Union); elected on November 4, 2001, for a term ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles