Republic of Mauritius

Note: At balloting for 62 elected members of the National Assembly on July 3, 2005, the Social Alliance (led by the Mauritius Labor Party [MLP]) won 38 seats, while the alliance of the Mauritian Socialist Movement and the Mauritian Militant Movement won 22 and the Rodriguan People's Organization won 2. Prime Minister Bérenger resigned on July 5, and he was succeeded on the same day by MLP leader Navin Ramgoolam, who formed a new cabinet comprising (for the most part) the parties that had formed the Social Alliance.

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy under multiparty parliamentary system established upon independence within the Commonwealth on March 12, 1968, became a republic on March 12, 1992.

Area: 790 sq. mi. (2,045 sq. km.).

Population: 1,179,137 (2000C); 1,236,000 (2004E).

Major Urban ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles