Area: 127,316 sq. mi. (329,749 sq. km.), encompassing Peninsular Malaysia, 50,806 sq. mi. (131,588 sq. km.); Sarawak, 48,050 sq. mi. (124,450 sq. km.); Sabah, 28,460 sq. mi. (73,711 sq. km.).

Population: 23,274,690 (2000C, incorporating adjustment for underenumeration, including Peninsular Malaysia, 18,599,699; Sabah, 2,603,485; Sarawak, 2,071,506); 25,853,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Centers (2000C): KUALA LUMPUR (1,297,526), Ipoh (566,211), Kelang (Klang, 563,173). In August 1995 ground was broken for a new administrative capital at Putrajaya, 25 miles south of Kuala Lumpur, where the paramount ruler now has his offices.

Official Language: Bahasa Malaysia.

Monetary Unit: Ringgit (official rate July 1, 2005: 3.80 ringgit = $1US).

Paramount Ruler: Tuanku SYED Sirajuddin ibni al-Marhum Syed Putra Jamalullail (Sovereign of Perlis); elected for a five-year term on December 12, 2001, by the Conference of Rulers; sworn ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles