Republic of Madagascar

Repoblikan'i Madagasikara (Malagasy)

République de Madagascar (French)

Political Status: Established as the Malagasy Republic within the French Community in 1958; became independent with present system June 30, 1960; military regime established May 18, 1972; name of Democratic Republic of Madagascar and single-party system adopted in new constitution and Socialist Revolutionary Charter approved by national referendum on December 21, 1975; present name adopted in new constitution of the Third Republic (codifying multiparty activity first authorized by presidential decree of March 1990) approved by national referendum on August 19, 1992, but subsequently the subject of extensive political conflict (see Political background and Constitution and government, below); federal system established by constitutional amendments approved by national referendum on March 15, 1998, and promulgated on April 8.

Area: 226,657 sq. ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles