Italian Republic

Repubblica Italiana

Political Status: Unified state proclaimed in 1861; republic established by national referendum in 1946; under parliamentary constitution effective January 1, 1948.

Area: 116,303 sq. mi. (301,225 sq. km.).

Population: 56,995,744 (2001C); 58,145,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Centers (2001C): ROME (2,546,804), Milan (1,256,211), Naples (1,004,500), Turin (865,263), Palermo (686,722), Genoa (610,307).

Official Language: Italian (German is also official in Trentino-Alto Adige).

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate July 1: 2005, 1 euro = $1.21US).

President of the Republic: Carlo Azeglio CIAMPI (nonparty); elected by the electoral college on May 13, 1999, and inaugurated on May 18 for a seven-year term, succeeding Oscar Luigi SCALFARO (Italian Popular Party).

President of the Council of Ministers: (Prime Minister): Silvio BERLUSCONI (House of Freedom/Forza Italia); designated by the President on June 9, 2001, and sworn in on ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles