Republic of Indonesia

Republik Indonesia

Political Status: Independent republic established August 17, 1945; original constitution reinstated by presidential decree in 1959; under modified military regime from March 12, 1966; democratic multiparty system reinvigorated following change of government on May 21, 1998.

Area: 735,354 sq. mi. (1,904,569 sq. km.), excluding East Timor.

Population: 206,265,595 (2000C); 218,116,000 (2004E). Both figures exclude Timor-Leste (East Timor), which became independent in 2002.

Major Urban Centers (1999E): JAKARTA (9,849,000), Surabaya (2,938,000), Bandung (2,603,000), Medan (2,117,000), Palembang (1,517,000), Semarang (1,419,000), Ujung Pandang (formerly Makassar, 1,204,000), Malang (813,000), Padang (791,000), Yogyakarta (424,000).

Official Language: Bahasa Indonesia (a form of Malay).

Monetary Unit: Rupiah (market rate July 1, 2005: 9,775 rupiahs = $1US).

President: Susilo Bambang YUDHOYONO (Democratic Party); elected in runoff balloting on September 20, 2004, and inaugurated on October 20 ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles