Republic of Guinea-Bissau

República da Guiné-Bissau

Note: In the first round of presidential balloting on June 19, 2005, Malam Bacai Sanha of the African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC) was credited with 35 percent of the vote, followed by former president João Bernardo Vieira (running as an independent) with 29 percent, and controversial (see Current issues, below) former president Kumba Yala of the Social Renewal Party with 25 percent. Several weeks after the second round of balloting on July 24, Vieira was declared the winner over Sanha with 52 percent of the vote; Sanha subsequently appealed the results as fraudulent.

Political Status: Achieved independence from Portugal on September 10, 1974; under rule of Revolutionary Council following coup of November 14, 1980; new constitution ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles