Federal Republic of Germany

Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Note: In Bundestag balloting on September 18, 2005, the Christian Democratic Union (CDU), led by Angela Merkel, secured 35.2 percent of the vote and 226 seats. The Social Democratic Party (SPD), led by Chancellor Schröder, won 34.2 percent of the vote and 222 seats, followed by the Free Democratic Party (FDP), with 9.8 percent of the vote and 61 seats. The election was widely considered inconclusive due to the failure of the CDU/FDP alliance or the SDP and its allies to secure a majority. Negotiations toward a coalition government led by Merkel continued into October.

Political Status: Divided into British, French, Soviet, and US occupation zones in July 1945; Federal Republic of Germany (FRG) under democratic parliamentary regime established in Western zones ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles