French Republic

République Française

Political Status: Republic under mixed parliamentary–presidential system established by constitution adopted by referendum of September 28, 1958, and instituted on October 4.

Area: 211,207 sq. mi. (547,026 sq. km.).

Population: 58,518,395 (1999C); 60,074,000 (2004E). Area and population figures are for metropolitan France (including Corsica); for Overseas Departments and other dependent jurisdictions, see Related Territories, below.

Major Urban Centers (1999C): PARIS (2,125,246); Marseilles (798,430); Lyons (445,452); Toulouse (390,350); Nice (342,738); Nantes (270,251); Strasbourg (264,115); Montpellier (225,392); Bordeaux (215,363); Rennes (206,229); Le Havre (190,905); Saint-Etienne (180,210).

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate July 1, 2005: 1 euro $= $1.21$US).

President: Jacques CHIRAC (Union for a Popular Movement); elected May 7, 1995, and inaugurated May 17 for a seven-year term, succeeding François MITTERRAND (Socialist Party); reelected for a five-year term ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles