Republic of the Fiji Islands

Matanitu Tu-Vaka-i-koya ko Viti (Fijian)

Fiji Ripablik (Hindustani)

Political Status: Voluntarily assumed the status of a British dependency in 1874; became independent member of the Commonwealth on October 10, 1970; Republic declared on October 15, 1987; current constitution promulgated on July 25, 1997, with effect from July 27, 1998.

Area: 7,055 sq. mi. (18,272 sq. km.).

Population: 775,077 (1996C); 834,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Center (1996C): SUVA (77,366).

Official Languages: English, Fijian (Na Vosa Vakaviti), and Hindustani (Fijian Hindi).

Monetary Unit: Fiji Dollar (official rate July 1, 2005: 1.69 dollars = $1US).

President: Ratu Josefa ILOILO; named Vice President by the Great Council of Chiefs on January 12, 1999, and sworn in on January 18, having served in an acting capacity following the death on November 17, 1997, of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles