Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

Political Status: Former monarchy; provisional military government formally established September 12, 1974; Marxist-Leninist one-party system instituted September 6, 1984; Communist constitution approved by referendum of February 1, 1987, resulting in redesignation of the country as the People's Democratic Republic of Ethiopia; “state responsibility” assumed by rebel coalition upon surrender of the former regime's military commander and acting president at Addis Ababa on May 27, 1991; national charter and transitional government approved by multiparty National Conference that met on July 1–5, 1991; present constitution promulgated December 8, 1994; Federal Democratic Republic proclaimed August 22, 1995.

Area: 436,349 sq. mi. (1,130,138 sq. km.).

Population: 53,477,265 (1994C); 71,334,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Centers (1996E): ADDIS ABABA (2,550,000), Harar (225,000), Dire Dawa (211,000), Gondar-Azezo (179,000), Nazret (159,000), Jimma ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles