Republic of El Salvador

República de El Salvador

Political Status: Part of Captaincy General of Guatemala, 1821; independence declared in 1841; republic proclaimed in 1859; constitution of 1962 suspended following military coup of October 15, 1979; provisional government superseded following promulgation of new constitution on December 20, 1983; peace treaty with FMLN guerrillas (effective February 1) signed January 16, 1992.

Area: 8,124 sq. mi. (21,041 sq. km.).

Population: 5,118,599 (1992C); 6,767,000 (2004E). The 1992 figure is unadjusted for underenumeration.

Major Urban Centers (2001E): SAN SALVADOR (486,000), Soyapango (287,000), Santa Ana (253,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Effective January 1, 2001, El Salvador adopted the US dollar as its currency, although the colón (fixed rate July 1, 2005: 8.75 colones = $1US) was to remain in circulation during a transition period.

President: Elías Antonio ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles