Commonwealth of Dominica

Note: Following the May 5, 2005, balloting for the House of Assembly, the Dominica Labour Party (DLP) was credited with having won 12 of the 21 elected seats, followed by the United Worker's Party (UWP) with 9 seats. Prime Minister Skerrit appointed a reshuffled cabinet, again comprising the DLP and the Dominica Freedom Party, on May 12. Meanwhile, the UWP complained of irregularities in the Assembly balloting, prompting several public demonstrations against the Skerrit administration.

Political Status: Former British dependency; joined West Indies Associated States in 1967; independent member of the Commonwealth since November 3, 1978.

Area: 290.5 sq. mi. (752.4 sq. km.).

Population: 71,727 (2001C); 71,900 (2004E).

Major Urban Center (1991C): ROSEAU (15,853).

Official Language: English (a French patois is widely spoken).

Monetary Unit: East Caribbean Dollar (official ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles