Kingdom of Denmark

Kongeriget Danmark

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy since 1849; under unicameral parliamentary system established in 1953.

Area: 16,629 sq. mi. (43,069 sq. km.).

Population: 5,349,212 (2001C); 5,376,000 (2004E). Area and population figures are for mainland Denmark; for Greenland and the Faroe Islands, see Related Territories, below.

Major Urban Center (1999E): COPENHAGEN (498,000; metropolitan area, 1,458,000).

Official Language: Danish.

Monetary Unit: Krone (market rate July 1, 2005: 6.17 kroner = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen MARGRETHE II; proclaimed Queen on January 15, 1972, following the death of her father, King FREDERIK IX, on January 14.

Heir to the Throne: Crown Prince FREDERIK, elder son of the Queen.

Prime Minister: Anders Fogh RASMUSSEN (Liberal Party); formed coalition government on November 27, 2001, following the election of November 20, succeeding Poul Nyrup RASMUSSEN (Social Democratic Party); returned to ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles