Union of the Comoros

Union des Comores (French)

Political Status: Former French dependency; proclaimed independent July 6, 1975; Federal Islamic Republic of the Comoros proclaimed in constitution approved by national referendum on October 1, 1978; constitution of October 20, 1996, suspended following military coup of April 30, 1999; new constitution providing for the Union of the Comoros adopted by national referendum on December 23, 2001.

Area: 718 sq. mi. (1,860 sq. km.), excluding the island of Mahoré (Mayotte), which has been retained as a “Territorial Collectivity” by France.

Population: 446,817 (1991C), excluding an estimated 50,740 residents of Mahoré; 608,000 (2004E), excluding Mahoré.

Major Urban Centers (1999E): MORONI (Ngazidja [Grande Comore], 30,700), Mutsamudu (Nzwani [Anjouan], 15,600), Fomboni (Mwali [Mohéli], 9,900).

Official Languages: Arabic, French (a majority speaks Comorian, a mixture of Arabic ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles