Republic of Colombia

República de Colombia

Political Status: Independent Gran Colombia proclaimed 1819; separate state of New Granada established 1831; republican constitution adopted 1886; bipartisan National Front regime instituted in 1958 but substantially terminated in 1974; current constitution promulgated July 5, 1991.

Area: 439,734 sq. mi. (1,138,914 sq. km.).

Population: 37,664,711 (1993C); 45,347,000 (2004E). The 1993 figure includes an adjustment for underenumeration.

Major Urban Centers (urban areas, 1999E): SANTAFE DE BOGOTA (formerly Bogotá, 6,884,000), Medellín (2,397,000), Cali (2,294,000), Barranquilla (1,260,000), Cartagena (886,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Peso (principal rate July 1, 2005: 2,320 pesos = $1US).

President: Alvaro URIBE Vélez (Independent); elected May 26, 2002, and inaugurated August 7 for a four-year term, succeeding Andrés PASTRANA Arango (Conservative Party).

Vice President: Francisco SANTOS Calderón (Independent); elected May 26, 2002, and inaugurated August ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles