Republic of China

Chung-hua Min-kuo

Political Status: Chinese province; controlled by the government of the Republic of China (established 1912), whose authority since 1949 has been limited to the island of Taiwan (Formosa), P'enghu (the Pescadores), and certain offshore islands, including Kinmen (Quemoy) and Matsu.

Area: 13,592 sq. mi. (35,203 sq. km.).

Population: 22,167,159 (1990C); 22,678,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Centers (1999E): TAIPEI (2,569,000), Kaohsiung (1,446,000), Taichung (937,000), Tainan (725,000), Keelung (385,000).

Official Language: Mandarin Chinese.

Monetary Unit: New Taiwan Dollar (market rate July 1, 2005: 31.67 dollars = $1US).

President: CHEN Shui-bian (Democratic Progressive Party); elected March 18, 2000, and sworn in May 20 for a four-year term, succeeding LEE Teng-hui (Kuomintang); sworn in May 20, 2004, for a second four-year term following election of March 20.

Vice President: LU Hsiu-lien (Annette LU, Democratic ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles