People's Republic of China

Zhongguo Renmin Gongheguo

(Chung-hua Jen-min Kung-ho Kuo)

Political Status: Communist People's Republic established October 1, 1949; present constitution adopted December 4, 1982; controls mainland China and represents China in the United Nations.

Area: 3,692,213 sq. mi. (9,562,842 sq. km.), excluding Taiwan.

Population: 1,242,612,226 (2000C, excluding Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macao); 1,311,281,000 (2004E, excluding Taiwan).

Major Urban Centers (urban areas, 2000E): BEIJING (Peking, 10,839,000), Shanghai (12,887,000), Tianjin (Tientsin, 9,156,000), Wuhan (5,169,000), Shenyang (4,828,000), Guangzhou (Canton, 3,893,000), Harbin (2,928,000), Nanjing (Nanking, 2,740,000), Dalian (Dairen, 2,628,000). Most of these figures are substantially less than previous estimates.

Official Language: Northern (Mandarin) Chinese (putung hua).

Monetary Unit: Yuan (official rate July 1, 2005: 8.28 yuan = $1US). The overall currency is known as renminbi (people's currency). China shifted from a state-set, dual-rate exchange system to a single ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles