People's Republic of Bangladesh

Ganaprojatantri Bangladesh

Political Status: Independent state proclaimed March 26, 1971; de facto independence achieved December 16, 1971; republican constitution of December 16, 1972, most recently suspended following coup of March 24, 1982, restored on November 10, 1986; parliamentary system (abandoned in favor of presidential system in January 1975) restored by referendum of September 15, 1991.

Area: 55,598 sq. mi. (143,999 sq. km.).

Population: 123,151,246 (2001C); 128,166,000 (2004E). Both figures include adjustments for underenumeration.

Major Urban Centers (1991C): DHAKA (Dacca, 3,612,850), Chittagong (1,392,860), Khulna (663,340).

Official Language: Bangla (Bengali).

Monetary Unit: Taka (official rate July 1, 2005: 63.92 takas = $1US).

President: Iajuddin AHMED (nonparty); declared elected on September 5, 2002, by the Election Commission (which had rejected both other nominees on technical grounds) and sworn in for a five-year ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles