South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2015

South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Established: By charter signed December 8, 1985, in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

    Purpose: “[T]o promote the welfare of the peoples of South Asia and to improve their quality of life; . . . to promote and strengthen collective self-reliance among the countries of South Asia; . . . to promote active collaboration and mutual assistance in the economic, social, cultural, technical and scientific fields; . . . and to co-operate with international and regional organizations with similar aims and purposes.”

    Headquarters: Kathmandu, Nepal.

    Principal Organs: Meeting of Heads of State or Government, Council of Ministers, Standing Committee, Programming Committee, Technical Committees, Secretariat.


    Secretary General: Arjun Thapa (Nepal).

    Membership (8): Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka.

    Observers (9): Australia, Myanmar, China, European Union, Iran, Japan, Mauritius, South Korea, ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website