Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2015

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Economique (OCDE)

    Established: By convention signed December 14, 1960, in Paris, France, effective September 30, 1961.

    Purpose: “To help member countries promote economic growth, employment, and improved standards of living through the coordination of policy [and] . . . to help promote the sound and harmonious development of the world economy and improve the lot of the developing countries, particularly the poorest.”

    Headquarters: Paris, France.

    Principal Organs: Council (all full members plus the European Commission), Executive Committee (14 members), Economic Policy Committee, Development Assistance Committee, Secretariat.


    Secretary General: Ángel Gurría (Mexico).

    Membership (34): Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website